Books, svadhyaya, Words of Wisdom

Taking it Off the Mat


Image of cover of book by Rolf GatesWho are your teachers? I have found the practice of svadhaya (self-study) can be even more enlightening when I look to inspirational teachers for insight.  Outside sources aren’t a substitute for self-observation, but in my experience if I am willing listen deeply I find new ways of looking at my life, my choices, my “stories.”  Over the past several months, my personal practice has included a daily reading from yoga teacher Rolf Gates’s book Meditations from the Mat.  This is an inspirational, thought-provoking book of daily meditations by a guy with what I would consider a “real” life story — that is, not a picture-perfect fiction, but a true journey of ups and downs and faults and growth.  If you’re looking for something new to provoke thought in your morning sadhana, consider “Meditations.”

Leave a Reply

